FREE CDL Class A Driving Test Online North Carolina 2023
Train for FREE online with our North Carolina class A license test. The official exam test consists of several obligatory parts, with all of them checking your knowledge of different blocks of road rules. If you need to obtain a NC CDL class A permit in 2023, practice as much as possible. Free sample tests published on our website will help you check and improve your knowledge and boost your grades. Please bear in mind that CDL class A requirements may vary from state to state.
To help you become a safer driver today, your understanding of traffic signs, signals, right-of-way rules, trucking legislation, speed limits, vehicle inspection, and fundamental commercial vehicle safety will be assessed. The North Carolina Commercial Driver's Manual and applicable North Carolina statutes are used to create each of our 50 multiple-choice questions. Best of luck, and drive carefully!
- CDL holders who want to add endorsements to their license
- First-time NC CDL and CLP applicants
- Applicants for CDL renewal in NC
On the actual NC CDL exam:
- There are 50 questions
- To pass, you must get 40 right answers
- 80% passing score
1 . If you are approaching a law enforcement vehicle that is stopped on the right side of the road with its lights flashing, you should:
When approaching an emergency vehicle that is stopped on the right side of the road, you should move into the left lane, if possible. If you cannot change lanes, slow down and pass the stopped vehicle with caution.
2 . If you are confronted by an aggressive driver, you should:
If confronted by an aggressive driver, the most important thing for you to do is get out of their way. Avoid making eye contact, do not challenge them by increasing your speed, and do not let yourself be provoked by any angry gestures they direct toward you.
3 . The use of a hand-held mobile device while driving is:
Using a hand-held mobile telephone while operating a CMV is both illegal and dangerous.
4 . If stopped on the road or shoulder, within 10 minutes, you must:
If stopped on the side of the road, you must place emergency warning devices, such as reflective warning triangles, within 10 minutes of stopping.
5 . When carrying a sealed load, the driver:
While a driver cannot inspect sealed loads, they can still ensure that the load does not exceed gross weight and axle weight limits.
6 . When performing a pre-trip inspection, you should make sure that:
When checking your vehicle's pedals during a pre-trip inspection, you should ensure that there is nothing under or around the pedals that will obstruct their use. Make sure the pedals are in proper working condition and that the surfaces of the pedals are grooved, if applicable.
7 . To confirm that a trailer has ABS, you can:
If you are unsure if a trailer is equipped with an Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS), look under the vehicle for the electronic control unit and wheel speed sensor wires coming from the back of the brakes.
2023 North Carolina | Frequently Asked Questions
The CDL test in North Carolina consists of 50 questions. You must correctly answer at least 40 questions to pass (80 percent ). The North Carolina CDL Manual is covered in the general knowledge test.
Commercial learner permits and licenses are issued by North Carolina from a central location and sent to applicants within 20 days.
That, like any other exam, is contingent on your preparation. The North Carolina CDL general knowledge and endorsement examinations may be more difficult than they need to be if you've just tried to remember the manual.
Non-excepted commercial drivers will be required to submit a current DOT medical examiner's certificate to the NC DMV in order to acquire a "certified" medical status on their driving record.
A normal CDL license costs roughly $30 to apply for, while Class A, B, and C licenses cost around $15 per year.