24 Tests

FREE California DMV Practical Test

This California DMV practice test (2|3|4) was recently updated for September 2021. It includes the most vital road signs and rules questions taken directly from the official California Driver Handbook for 2021. Use genuine questions that are very similar (often identical!) to the DMV driving permit test and driver's license exam to prepare for the DMV driving permit test and driver's license exam. Read More

This California DMV practice test (2|3|4) was recently updated for September 2021. It includes the most vital road signs and rules questions taken directly from the official California Driver Handbook for 2021. Use genuine questions that are very similar (often identical!) to the DMV driving permit test and driver's license exam to prepare for the DMV driving permit test and driver's license exam.

To help you recall the topics, each practice test question includes a hint and explanation. The written component of the official DMV test will consist of questions about regulations of the road, traffic signs, and driving statutes, as well as information from the Driver Handbook.

To get the required 83 percent passing score, you must correctly answer 38 out of 46 questions (or 30 out of 36 if you are over 18). Use this DMV practice exam to help you prepare for your California instruction permit or driver's license.

The DMV exam is available in various languages, but you must begin the test by 4:30 p.m. to ensure that you have enough time to complete it. The California Driver Handbook outlines the state's strict rules for awarding instruction permits to minors.

Using any form of testing help during the test will result in an automatic failure, and the DMV may take further action against your driving permit, so please don't cheat.

36
30
6

1 . If you are convicted of driving with an excessive blood alcohol concentration (BAC), you may be sentenced to serve:

If you are convicted of DUI for the first time and you have an excessive BAC level, you may be sentenced to serve up to six months in jail and may be required to pay a fine between $390 and $1,000. Your vehicle may be impounded and is subject to storage fees.

2 . Flash your brake lights or turn on your emergency flashers if you:

If you can see a collision ahead, warn the drivers behind you by turning on your emergency flashers or by tapping your brake pedal quickly three or four times.

3 . You are involved in a minor collision at an intersection. There are no injuries and there is very little vehicle damage. You should:

After a collision, if no one has been injured or killed and you can safely do so, you should move your vehicle out of the traffic lane.

4 . For which of the following traffic lights must you always stop your vehicle?

You must stop at a solid or flashing red light, or at a signal light that is blacked out (not working). A solid yellow light means that the signal is about to turn red and you must stop if you can do so safely; otherwise, proceed cautiously. A flashing yellow light means that you should proceed with caution, but you do not need to stop.

5 . This sign means:

This sign means:
Warning signs are usually yellow with black markings. They alert you to conditions that are immediately ahead. This sign tells drivers to prepare to allow traffic to safely merge from the right.

6 . Drivers turning left must yield to:

Drivers turning left must yield to oncoming vehicles that are driving straight ahead. A turning driver may only proceed when they can safely turn without affecting oncoming traffic.

Wait, before you go

Ace Your California DMV Written Test with our Guaranteed Cheat Sheet